Bear Ridge Track Conditions


Outback Steakhouse

Archived News

Return to Latest

Martell and Carbee in 500cc, Eldridge and Belliveau in 600cc Win Wingless Weekend Events

Posted 2017-08-30 at 12:40

The wings came off for the O'Reilly Auto Parts Granite State Mini Sprint Club this past weekend for "Wingless Weekend" events at The Legion Speedway on Friday August 24th and at Bear Ridge Speedway on Saturday August 25th.

On hand Friday evening at The Legion Speedway was a fine field of 19 500cc and 12 of 600cc machines. When the green flag dropped on the 500cc Feature Nate Martel in his #3 blasted into the lead from his third starting position. Martel led the entire duration of the event driving to a dominating Victory. While Martel was all alone out front the battle for second was intense with ever changing challengers. Ed Vickery spent a lot of time running in second in his #48 in the early part of the race, but was overtaken for the position by the #11 of Brain Lakin. The 1st caution of the night flew just one lap later and on the ensuing green Vickery reclaimed second. Another caution flew one lap later and on that restart the #60 of Kyle Pittman got the jump on the green to move to second. Two laps later the last caution of the event flew, this time for Pittman as his car shut down while in second. This gave the number two spot to Owen Carbee in the #71. The race went clean and green the rest of the way with Nate Martel picking up the win. Owen Carbee was second with Ed Vickery claiming third. Ken Stridsburg in the #6 was fourth and the #51 of Riley Chaffee completed the top five.

The 600cc Main Event at Legion Speedway saw the #10 of Kevin Heath jump into the lead before a lap was complete from his 4th starting spot. The caution flew two laps later for the #7 of Drew Eldridge, who spun in turn four. Heath retained the lead when racing resumed. Kyle Belliveau, who started 11th, had worked his way up to second when the next caution flew with 6 laps complete for the #18 of Dick Lamotte. When green flag racing resumed it only lasted a lap before the #15 of Belliveau caused another caution while running second. On the restart the #7 of Eldridge flew up into the second position and started challenging Heath for the lead. After a 3 lap battle for the top spot Eldridge deftly moved to the front and went on to take the win. Kevin Heath crossed the line second with Kyle Belliveau coming back to finish third. Kyle Pittman in the #9 and Tony Shaw in the #20 completed the top five.

Heat race winners at The Legion Speedway were Nate Martell and Brian Lakin in the 500cc class with Tyler Jones winning the lone 600cc Heat.

Saturday night at Bear Ridge Speedway when the green flag dropped on the 500cc Feature Terry Balla jumped to the lead from the pole position in the #13, however just two laps later the #42 of Ryan Farwell surged to the top spot. While the positions up front were stable, the #39 with Tom Chaffee at the controls, who started last on the field had clawed his way up to the third spot when the caution flew for the #46 of Tyler Vickery who spun in turn one. Just two laps after the green flag reappeared Owen Carbee took over the top spot as Farwell got up high and dropped through the field like a rock until he spun in turn two four laps later, also collecting the #54 of Will Pinkham Jr. With just a couple of laps remaining when racing resumed Owen Carbee zoomed to the win. Kyle Pittman ran a quiet race but ended up placing his #60 in the second spot. Tom Chaffee was third with the #11 of Brian Lakin fourth and the #45 of Eric Relation fifth.

Tyler Jones jumped into the lead at the start of the 600cc Feature in his #17 with the #14 of Zach Herbert settling into the second spot. Just a few laps later Kyle Belliveau, who started in the 10th spot, arrived in the third position. With seven laps complete the first yellow of the event flew for the #00 of Bradley Osgood, who spun in turn three and got stuck on the inside berm. When racing resumed the top three remained the same until the 14yth lap when Kyle Belliveau placed his #15 into the second spot. Just seconds later the #7 of Drew Eldridge spun, forcing the flagman to throw the caution flag again. On the restart the action was fast and furious up front as Jones attempted to hold off Herbert, who moved back to second on the restart. Belliveau took his time and worked to the outside of both Herbert and Jones to take the lead with just a lap remaining. At the Checkers it was Kyle Belliveau for the win with Tyler Jones second and the #10 of Kevin Heath claiming third as Herbert spun in turn four coming to the checkers. Bradley Osgood crossed the line fourth with the #9 of Kyle Pittman fifth.

Heat race winners were Eric Relation and Owen Carbee in the 500s with Kyle Belliveau winning the 600cc heat.

The O'Reilly Auto Parts Granite State Mini Sprints return to action again September 8th at The Legion Speedway. For more information please log onto

Images courtesy of Alan Ward

Lap Times
500 (pg1)
500 (pg2)
600 (pg1)
600 (pg2)

Unofficial Results, Legion Speedway, August 25th 2017

500cc Class

1.   Nate Martell
2.   Owen Carbee
3.   Ed Vickery
4.   Ken Stridsburg
5.   Riley Chaffee
6.   Matt Calley
7.   Eddie Puffinburger
8.   Will Pinkham Jr
9.   Eric Relation
10.  Tyler Vickery
11.  Kyle Pittman
12.  Keisha Boissoneau
13.  Matt Collins
14.  Michael Sanville
15.  Ryan Farwell
16.  Terry Balla
17.  Peter Belliveau
18.  Logan Osmer
19.  Brian Lakin

600cc Class

1.   Drew Eldridge
2.   Kevin Heath
3.   Kyle Belliveau
4.   Kyle Pittman
5.   Tony Shaw
6.   Adam Cunningham
7.   Andy Badger
8.   Tyler Jones
9.   Bradley Osgood
10.  John Mills
11.  Dick Lamotte
12.  Ben Bachand-DNS

Unofficial Results, Bear Ridge Speedway, August 26th 2017

500cc Class

1.  Owen Carbee
2.  Kyle Pittman
3.  Tom Chaffee
4.  Brian Lakin
5.  Eric Relation
6.  Riley Chaffee
7.  Ken Stridsburg
8.  Ed Vickery
9.  Tyler Vickery
10. Matt Collins
11. Eddie Puffinburger
12. Keisha Boissioneau
13. Ryan Farwell
14. Tarin Prior
15. Terry Balla
16. Will Pinkham Jr
17. Matt Calley
18. Nate Martell-DNS

600cc Class

1.  Kyle Belliveau
2.  Tyler Jones
3.  Kevin Heath
4.  Bradley Osgood
5.  Kyle Pittman
6.  Tony Shaw
7.  Adam Cunningham
8.  Zach Herbert
9.  Drew Eldridge
10. Andy Badger
11. John Mills

Return to Latest f

Outback Steakhouse


Legion Speedway Track Conditions


Auto Meter
Racing News
Home Schedule Points Rules Mission Member App Drivers Classifieds Contact Us Photos

Copyright 2014 Granite State Mini Sprint Racing Club
Website designed and maintained by DJM3