Bear Ridge Track Conditions


Outback Steakhouse

Archived News

Return to Latest

Kemp Runs to 500cc Win, Belliveau Dominates 600's

Posted 2017-06-06 at 23:46

The Granite State Mini Sprint Club rolled into Bear Ridge Speedway for the first time this season for some exiting action with increased car counts from the inaugural event of the season.

As usual the 500cc Feature Event was the first feature of the evening. Peter Belliveau took the lead when the green flag flew in his #76 machine, but his lead was fairly short lived as the #24 of Joe Kemp, who started third, challenged Belliveau for the lead a few times before completing the pass for the lead. While Joe Kemp was building his lead there was intense action behind him and as a pack of cars were battling three wide for position they came upon the #27 car of Allan Hammond to put a lap on him. As they attempted to rocket by the slower car of Hammond the nearly 5 wide deal on the front stretch proved to be a disaster for the #96 of Matt Collins as he caught a wheel and it sent him for a wild ride, flipping multiple times. Luckily Collins walked away from the incident. When the green flag flew once again Kemp jumped back to the point. Meanwhile the winner of the last race for the 500's, William Pinkham Jr in his #54 was on the move steadily working his way toward the front from his 12th starting spot. Once Pinkham moved into the second spot he rapidly closed the gap on leader Kemp and took a couple of shots at the lead, but the best Pinkham Jr could do was get beside Kemp coming out of turn two before slipping back a bit with two laps to go. At the finish it was Joe Kemp taking the win with William Pinkham Jr second. Early leader Peter Belliveau crossed the line third but was later moved to last due to a post race technical infraction. This moved Ken Stridsburg officially to third with Ed Vickery fourth and Riley Chaffee fifth.

Just like the opening race of the season, the 600cc feature went caution free. Drew Eldridge in his #7 broke into the lead at the drop of the green, but it was only a few laps into the non-stop 20 lap affair that the #15 of Kyle Belliveau went flying to the front after starting fourth. Once Belliveau had the lead he was not challenged as he ran away and hid from the rest of the field to take the easy win, avenging the disappointing loss at The Legion Speedway in the last race. Drew Eldridge claimed second with Dick Lamotte a solid third. Tony Shaw and Kyle Pittman completed the top five.

Heat Race wins went to Owen Carbee and Joe Kemp in the 500cc's with Kyle Belliveau winning the 600cc Heat.

The next event on the calendar for the O’Reilly Auto Parts Granite State Mini Sprints is Friday, June 9th at The Legion Speedway in Wentworth, NH. For more information please log onto

Images courtesy of Alan Ward

Unofficial Results, Bear Ridge Speedway, June 3rd 2017
500cc Class
1.   Joe Kemp
2.   William Pinkham Jr
3.   Ken Stridsburg
4.   Ed Vickery
5.   Riley Chaffee
6.   Eric Relation
7.   Brent Warren
8.   Tyler Vickery
9.   Kyle Pittman
10.  Matt Calley
11.  Brian Lakin
12.  Nate Martel
13.  Richie Gilpatrick
14.  Owen Carbee
15.  Allan Hammond
16.  Terry Balla
17.  Matt Collins
18.  Peter Belliveau (DSQ)
19.  Willard Ordway (DNS)
600cc Class
1.   Kyle Belliveau
2.   Drew Eldridge
3.   Dick Lamotte
4.   Tony Shaw
5.   Kyle Pittman
6.   Adam Cunningham
7.   Andy Badger
8.   John Mills (DNS)

Return to Latest f

Outback Steakhouse


Legion Speedway Track Conditions


Auto Meter
Racing News
Home Schedule Points Rules Mission Member App Drivers Classifieds Contact Us Photos

Copyright 2014 Granite State Mini Sprint Racing Club
Website designed and maintained by DJM3