Bear Ridge Track Conditions


Outback Steakhouse

Eric Relation and Zach Herbert win at Legion, Tom Chaffee and Kyle Belliveau tops at Bear Ridge

Posted 2018-09-22 at 20:18

It was another double header weekend for the Advanced Auto Parts Granite State Mini Sprints. Friday night, September 14th there was a non-points event added to the schedule at The Legion Speedway because of all the rainouts throughout the season and Saturday night, September 15th the season concluded at Bear Ridge Speedway.

Friday night at the Legion Speedway since it was a non points event there was a number of drivers in different machines than usual with Eric Relation in the #60, Tom Chaffee was in the #71 and Riley Chaffee was in the #05. At the drop of the green Eric Relation got a great start and blasted from the fourth starting position to take the lead with the #60 before a single lap was complete with the #88 of Ed Vickery second. The race was stopped with four laps complete for a wild front stretch scramble that found the #71 of Tom Chaffee doing a mid-air spin after contact with another car. When racing resumed so did Eric Relation’s lead. The #86 of Cody Willette claimed second on the restart with Vickery dropping to third. As the race progressed Relation pulled away from the rest of the field building a lead of better than a straightaway. While Willette was running comfortably in second Ed Vickery was under attack by the #96 of Matt Collins, who finally completed the pass for third with five laps left in the event. At the checkers it was Eric Relation with an impressive win. Cody Willette had a career best second with Matt Collins third. Riley Chaffee in the #05 was fourth and Ed Vickery fifth.

The 600cc Feature at Legion Speedway had a hard time getting started as before a lap was complete Jillian Badger in the #9 and Tony Shaw in the #20 came together, causing a yellow. On the restart there was another tangle that found the #29 of Mark Wiggett getting the short end of it, ending up on his wing. Once the race finally got started it went the rest of the way without another caution. Zach Herbert in the #14 took the lead and led the entire way to take the win. Toby Tatro in the #8, making his first start in a number of years came from the back to finish second with the #17 of Tyler Jones third. Tony Shaw and Jillian Badger completed the top five.

Saturday night at Bear Ridge Speedway the 500cc feature found Ryan Farwell, tonight in the #60 instead of his #42, as he had problems with it the night before. Farwell started on the pole and immediately took the lead with the #5 of William Pinkham Jr settling into second. William Pinkham Sr in the #54 was third and challenging for second, taking the spot on lap five. The yellow flew on lap nine for William Pinkham Jr who lost a chain and rolled to a stop in turn two. On the restart Tom Chaffee in the #1 made a nice move to go from fourth to first in a lap to take the lead and just a lap later Pinkham Sr moved to second with Farwell starting to slowly fade back through the field. By this time Riley Chaffee in the #51 had claimed third and was on the move. On lap seventeen the caution flew for a turn four spin by Pinkham Sr. When the race went green it didn't stay that way long as before another lap could be complete a backstretch incident involving numerous cars saw William Pinkham Sr getting the worst of it as he ended up flipping. The last three laps were run incident free with Tom Chaffee taking the win with Riley Chaffee second. Eric Relation made some nice late race moves to finish third in the #45. The #17 of Matt Calley was fourth and Carson Williams in the #12 was fifth.

The 600cc Feature rolled off with one of the biggest fields in quite a while with thirteen cars to take the green. The #15 of Kyle Belliveau and the #21 of Rich Crooker brought the field to the green with Belliveau shooting into the lead. Crooker was second with the #78 of Jordan Eldridge third. As the top three flew around the track Belliveau continued to build his lead, putting a number of competitors a lap down. Jordan Eldridge got by Crooker for second just a lap before a major incident at the exit of turn four eliminated the #17 of Tyler Jones and the #78m of Keith Brown. At the same time as that incident unfolded Drew Eldridge in the #7 flipped in turn three, landing on all four wheels, but he was also eliminated form the race. On the restart Belliveau once again took command and ran to the dominating win. Jordan Eldridge finished a season best second with Mark Wiggett in the #29 third. Zach Herbert in the #14 was fourth and Rich Crooker fifth.

Heat race wins went to William Pinkham Sr and Matt Collins in the 500cc class with Kyle Belliveau and Mark Wiggett scoring heat race wins in the 600cc class. The next event on the calendar for the Advanced Auto Parts Granite State Mini Sprints is the annual banquet that will conclude the season on October 13th. For more information please log onto

Images courtesy of Alan Ward

Unofficial Results, Legion Speedway, September 14th 2018

Granite State Mini Sprints 500cc

  1.  Eric Relation
  2.  Cody Willette
  3.  Matt Collins
  4.  Rile Chaffee
  5.  Ed Vickery
  6.  Tyler Vickery
  7.  Carson Williams
  8.  Billy Black
  9.  Tristian Puffinburger
  10. Tom Chaffee
  11. Terry Balla
  12. Ryan Farwell-DNS

Granite State Mini Sprints 600cc

  1.  Zach Herbert
  2.  Toby Tatro
  3.  Tyler Jones
  4.  Tony Shaw
  5.  Jillian Badger
  6.  Mark Wiggett

Unofficial Results, Bear Ridge Speedway, September 15th 2018

Granite State Mini Sprints 500cc

  1.  Tom Chaffee
  2.  Riley Chaffee
  3.  Eric Relation
  4.  Matt Calley
  5.  Carson Williams
  6.  Tyler Vickery
  7.  Ryan Farwell
  8.  Cody Willette
  9.  Ed Vickery
  10. William Pinkham Sr
  11. Matt Collins
  12. Tristian Puffinburger
  13. Rich Gilpatrick
  14. Billy Black
  15. William Pinkham Jr

Granite State Mini Sprints 600cc

  1.  Kyle Belliveau
  2.  Jordan Eldridge
  3.  Mark Wiggett
  4.  Zach Herbert
  5.  Rich Crooker
  6.  Tony Shaw
  7.  Nick Ostertag
  8.  Willie Ostertag
  9.  Adam Cunningham
  10. Drew Eldridge
  11. Toby Tatro
  12. Tyler Jones
  13. Keith Brown


Outback Steakhouse


Legion Speedway Track Conditions


Auto Meter
Racing News
Home Schedule Points Rules Mission Member App Drivers Classifieds Contact Us Photos

Copyright 2014 Granite State Mini Sprint Racing Club
Website designed and maintained by DJM3