Bear Ridge Track Conditions


Outback Steakhouse

Eric Relation wins in 500's, Kyle Belliveau tops in 600's

Posted 2018-08-30 at 19:50

In what has turned into the year of the rainout for the Advance Auto Parts Granite State Mini Sprints, Legion Speedway's already rescheduled Wingless night was rained out once again making it five times this season that the action has been squashed by wet weather. Bear Ridge Speedway was the sight of the latest races to actually occur Saturday Night, August 25th and unlike the last race there it was a fairly tame evening with some great racing.

Tyler Vickery jumped into the lead at onset of the feature for the 500cc class in his #45 from the outside pole position with third starting Triston Puffinburger in the #47 settling into second. The #88 of Ed Vickery was initially third but with just two laps on the board Matt Calley in the #17 took the spot. While the race remained green Tyler Vickery built a commanding lead the #45 of Eric Relation was on the move, reaching the third spot at the halfway point of the event after starting tenth. Relation stalked Puffinburger for a couple of laps as before moving to second as duo rapidly closed in on the leader. Once relation disposed of Puffinburger it only took him another lap before shooting into the lead, bringing Puffinburger to second with him. The only caution of the race occurred three laps later for a pair of incidents that happened simultaneously. Matt Calley and the #24 of Joe Kemp were involved on the front stretch and in turn two an incident involving Ed Vickery, the #12 of Carson Williams, Matt Collins in the #96 and the #10 of Rich Gilpatrick with both Collins and Gilpatrick pitting. When racing resumed with just four laps left Relation once again zoomed into the lead with Tyler Vickery taking back second. As the field came to the white flag Riley Chaffee in the #51 make a nice move to take third. The race finished under a yellows/Checkers as Matt Calley had problems at the exit of turn two as the race finished. At the line it was Eric Relation taking the win. Tyler Vickery was second with Riley Chaffee third. Triston Puffinburger was fourth with Tom Chaffee completing the top five.

Reigning 600cc Champion Kyle Belliveau made his first appearance of the season and immediately jumped into the lead in his #15 with the #21 of Rich Crooker running second and perennial frontrunner Zach Herbert in his #14 all the way up to third in a single lap after starting tenth on the grid. The front three ran that way until Herbert finally used the high side to get by Crooker for second on lap seven. Just a lap later the only caution of the event occurred when Rich Crooker spun in turn four. This moved the #29 of Mark Wiggett up to the third position. On the restart Belliveau once again motored away from the field, laving Herbert and Wiggett to battle for second. Herbert held the spot until lap 14 when Wiggett got by in lapped traffic with Herbert returning the move, once again aided by lapped traffic on lap seventeen. At the Checkers it was Kyle Belliveau with a dominating victory. Zach Herbert was second with Mark Wiggett third. Tyler Jones in the #17 and Drew Eldridge in the #7 completed the top five.

Heat Race wins went to Tyler Vickery and Eric Relation in the 500's with Kyle Belliveau taking the win in the lone 600 heat.

The next event on the calendar for the Advanced Auto Parts Granite State Mini Sprints is Friday September 7th at the Legion Speedway and this event will be run wingless to make up the twice rained out wingless night. A non points fun night has also been added at Legion Speedway on September 14th due to all the rainouts. The season Concludes the following night, September 15th at Bear Ridge Speedway. For more information please log onto

Images courtesy of Alan Ward

Unofficial Results, Bear Ridge Speedway, Saturday August 25th, 2018

Granite State Mini Sprints 500cc

  1.  Eric Relation
  2.  Tyler Vickery
  3.  Riley Chaffee
  4.  Triston Puffinburger
  5.  Tom Chaffee
  6.  Cody Willette
  7.  Terry Balla
  8.  Ed Vickery
  9.  Carson Williams
  10. Joe Kemp
  11. Rob Williams
  12. Matt Calley
  13. Matt Collins
  14. Rich Gilpatrick

Granite State Mini Sprints 600cc

  1.  Kyle Belliveau
  2.  Zach Herbert
  3.  Mark Wiggett
  4.  Tyler Jones
  5.  Drew Eldridge
  6.  Adam Cunningham
  7.  Rich Crooker
  8.  Tony Shaw
  9.  Jordan Eldridge
  10. Nick Ostertag
  11. Willie Ostertag
  12. Jillian Badger


Outback Steakhouse


Legion Speedway Track Conditions


Auto Meter
Racing News
Home Schedule Points Rules Mission Member App Drivers Classifieds Contact Us Photos

Copyright 2014 Granite State Mini Sprint Racing Club
Website designed and maintained by DJM3